Showdown at Big Sky

548880_373581799380199_1150984336_n_large

Taken from todays Daily Prompt:

Showdown at Big Sky

How do you handle conflict? Boldly or Directly? Or, do you prefer a more subtle approach.

I personally favour the running away approach. For this method to be successful there need not be screaming, crying or flailing of arms, they are entirely optional and a matter for personal choice.

There is also the ‘Ostrich’. I’m good at that one too, although instead of burying my head in sand it’s usually my pillow.

Unlike a kettle I tend to go off the boil rather quickly. I’ll get myself all worked up about something and start to put my point across, but if someone then counteracts me, while starting a gentle rolling boil themselves, I tend to back off, whether I am right or wrong.

It’s one of the many pet hates I have about myself and I am sure it most likely stems from a lack of confidence. I need to be able to learn to put my point across, without losing the plot and boiling over, something that thankfully I don’t do all that often.

If all else fails, go into a dark room and have a serious think about where your life is going until such times as the conflict situation has subsided.

I’ve been doing this for years and I still have no idea where I am headed, so best of luck!

15 thoughts on “Showdown at Big Sky

  1. You could build self-confidence by doing it one conflict at a time, first dipping in your toes, then getting a little wet (still talking about conflict here,) until you’re comfortable with the less savory stuff: escalation, advanced self-extraction . . . Until some day you’re ready to explore the nuclear option — although I recommend a full year at bodybuilding and mixed martial arts before you consider trying it with anyone. Then there’s the people who can teach you to kill by using a person’s pressure points, but they don’t come cheap so you’ll probably want to work on your employer negotiation techniques at the same time (not to be confused with Street Fighting 201.)

    I’ll be honest, I’ve had my time as the back-down-type, and it’s nowhere near as thrilling as standing your ground or even pushing your point beyond a simple statement. Mix in a matter-of-fact observation of the other person’s character, and as long as you’re in the right, people will look up to you.

    Like

Entertain the Eejit!

